Tips for Managing Your Everything Stream

Posted by:

March 11th, 2011
|
|
|
|
|

Edmodo users now have the ability to join 11 communities and 18 partner pages in topics ranging from World Languages to Professional Development. With the addition of new communities, many teachers are both joining and contributing to conversations that they weren’t previously. We have seen people from around the world sharing teaching resources and asking about collaborative projects spanning multiple classrooms. Many teachers are also using these communities to find other teachers to connect with, using these connections to send direct messages and share stories about their classrooms.

This increased collaboration is amazing to watch. The supportive and just-in-time nature of these communities is working to cultivate the same instincts for sharing and conversation within the classroom. In this effort, we would like to give you as many tools as possible for following both the professional conversations you are a part of as well and the student interactions you initiate.

One such tool is the “Hide Communities and Connections” feature:

Once you have joined a community, all of those community posts will come into your Everything Stream. If you would like to hide the community posts for a while, you can simply click the X button in the top of a single post from that community and you will be presented with a message about hiding those posts. Also, if you are finding that one of your connections is sending out a large volume of posts, you can also “mute” them simply by clicking on the same X in the top right corner of one of their connections posts. You will still be joined to the community and be able to post messages there, but you won’t see them in your stream. Likewise, you will still be connected to your hidden colleagues and you will be able to send and receive direct messages, but you won’t have to see all of their posts out to their connections.

If you check this box and click “Hide,” you will no longer find these community messages (or connections posts) in your stream.

To reenable these posts, simply go into your settings page and click on the “Manage Hidden Posts” link under your privacy settings.

From here, you can also choose which of your connections to allow back into your Everything Stream. In this way, you can decide which conversations to take part in on a daily basis. You can always go directly to the communities and view all of the messages that you have been missing, but you can decide when you want to see others’ contributions rather than them being pushed directly into your stream.


4 Responses to “Tips for Managing Your Everything Stream”

  1. dr_dmd says:

    So how do you actually JOIN a group/community? I don’t see where you do that anywhere.

    • Jamie says:

      Scroll all the way down to the bottom of your home page when you log in. There is a link to communities at the very bottom of the page. Once you select the community, there is a Join Community button at the top of the page.

  2. John says:

    How do you actually remove communities? When I created my account I automatically had “Support” as a community. How can I remove that one and others?

    • luciagia says:

      The support community is automatically included in everyone’s account. If you ever have a question about Edmodo, you can post within that community.

Leave a Reply